The main event in the UK’s consulting calendar continues to attract a rich diversity of management consulting firms and consultants.

31 management consulting firms have successfully won through to be finalists in the 2017 MCA Awards. The MCA awards are the benchmark of quality within the profession, celebrating the best projects, individuals and initiatives in the UK consulting industry. Winners will be announced at the gala ceremony and dinner on Thursday 27 April, which also marks the MCA Award’s 20th anniversary.

Deloitte lead the way with 15 finalists, followed by PwC with 11. Other notable tallies include Arup with nine, KPMG with eight, Arcadis with six and Atkins and GE Healthcare Finnamore with five. Many of the UK’s specialist consulting firms are also well represented, making up around half of the firms on this year’s shortlist.

54 client organisations will be represented on the evening. Coca-Cola, Boots and Aldi are amongst a strong consumer brand presence. A large number of infrastructure projects have been recognised with Highways England, National Grid and Network Rail all finalists. Meanwhile public sector clients continue to be strongly represented with a number of exciting police, council and NHS as well as central government projects included.
The 2017 MCA Awards also sees the launch of three new categories recognising firm initiatives in the areas of Client Service & Value, Ethical Behaviour and Professional Development. The Consulting Excellence awards align with the new MCA scheme celebrating value and the commitment of MCA members to the highest professional standards.

Alan Leaman, CEO of the MCA, commented:

“In 2017 we will celebrate 20 years of the MCA Awards. The value of consulting has probably never been more apparent than today as British businesses deal with the consequences of the Brexit vote and as public sector continues to respond to spending pressures and the need for service improvement. These Awards will demonstrate that value in action.”

The Times Consultant of the Year will also be announced on the night, as well as the overall Project of the Year and Best New Consultancy. The Times will also be featuring all winners in a special supplement after the main event.

The 2017 MCA Awards Finalists are:

Consulting Excellence Awards:

Client Service & Value

Egremont Group

GE Healthcare Finnamore




Ethical Behaviour


GE Healthcare Finnamore


Professional Development





Project Awards:

Best Use of Thought Leadership

Arup - City Resilience Index

Deloitte - ‘Future of work’ thought leadership series

PA Consulting & Longitude Research – Innovation as Unusual

PwC – Leaving the EU- Implications for the UK Economy

Change Management in the Private Sector

Arcadis with Thames Water

Challenge Consulting with Hitachi Capital Vehicle Solutions (HCVS)

Curzon & Company with Roke

Egremont Group with Walgreens

Grant Thornton with ABCUL

Change Management in the Public Sector

Arcadis with Ministry of Justice

Atkins Management Consultants with Department for Transport

Atkins Management Consultants with Highways England

Deloitte with Hampshire County Council

EY with Greater Manchester Police

GE Healthcare Finnamore with Mids & Lancashire CSU

Integration Consulting with DIT – Department of International Trade (former UKTI)

KPMG with Western Sussex NHS Hospitals

PPL with West London Alliance

Commercial Excellence

Arcadis with National Grid

Atkins Management Consultants with Highways England

Pearson Ham Consulting with Welcome Break

Customer Engagement

Deloitte with Aldi

EY with Liberty Global

EY with Informa

IBM with Barclays

KPMG Nunwood with Nationwide

Digital and Technology (sponsored by Thales Cyber and Consulting)

Atos Consulting with Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust

Capita Transformation with Southampton City Council

Deloitte with Clydesdale Bank & Yorkshire Bank Group (CYBG)

IBM with Boots

IndigoBlue with Dixons Carphone

Moorhouse with London NHS

Finance & Risk Management

Arup with Dwr Cymru Welsh Water

Innovation (sponsored by Kimble)

Arup with Network Rail

Deloitte with Transport for London (TfL)

iMPOWER with NHS Bromley CCG

Propaganda with ReFood


Deloitte with Equinix

Efficio Consulting with Sagia

Egremont Group with Walgreens

PwC with CDKN (Client & Development Knowledge Network)

PwC with DFID

People (sponsored by KellyOCG)

Accelerating Experience with CitySprint Ltd

Arup with East Midlands Leadership Academy (EMLA)

BearingPoint with Saga

Efficio Consulting with Informa

Performance Improvement in the Private Sector (sponsored by Mindbench)

Arcadis with Southern Water

GE Healthcare Finnamore – Healthcare at Home

KPMG with Coca Cola

KPMG Boxwood with McCarthy & Stone

PwC with Welsh Water

Performance Improvement in the Public Sector

Arup with London Overground, TfL

Deloitte with Sussex Police

KPMG with HM Courts & Tribunal Services (HMCTS)

Social & Environmental Value (sponsored by X-Forces)

Arup with The Crown Estate

Deloitte with Vi-Ability

PwC with Travel Foundation & TUI Group


Cognosis Consulting with AkzoNobel (Dulex Paint)

Cognosis Consulting with SABMiller

Comotion Consulting with Reed Exhibitons

Deloitte with Bayer

Propaganda with ReFood

Individual Awards

Change Management Consultant of the Year

Caroline Crewther, Atkins Management Consultants

Tatiana Collins, BearingPoint

Sonia Storr, Deloitte

Chris Twigg, Inner Circle Consulting

Meir Adler, KPMG

Digital & Technology Consultant of the Year

Maria Kordoni, Arup

Nikola Prelevic, Atos Consulting

David Woodhead, CSC

Ed Greig, Deloitte

Matthew Shearsby, KPMG

Performance Improvement Consultant of the Year

Olu Eriolu, Arcadis

Shiow Wel Goh, Deloitte

Francesca L Wolfe, PwC

Strategy Consultant of the Year

Josef Hargrave, Arup

Matt Locsin, Deloitte

Tim O’Hanlon, GE Healthcare Finnamore

Jamie Ounan, Inner Circle Consulting

Young Consultant of the Year

Carey Williams, Atkins Management Consultants

Emily Brennan, Atos Consulting

Chris Quinn, Chaucer Consulting

James Lawson, Deloitte

Natasha Dudas, Deloitte

Caoimhe Thornton, KPMG

Timothy Price, PwC

Shyam Radia, PwC

Winners are decided by an independent panel of expert judges and will be announced at the Awards Dinner, held at the Park Plaza, Westminster, London on 27 April 2017.
Full details on the MCA Awards 2017 are available via
read more