30 management consulting firms have made the shortlist for the 2016 MCA Awards following a record number of entries. The MCA Awards are the main event in the UK consulting calendar and are recognised as the benchmark for quality within the profession. Winners will be announced at the gala ceremony and dinner on Thursday 21 April.

Deloitte and PwC lead the way with the most shortlisted projects and individual consultants – with 17 and 15 nominations respectively. Other notable tallies include KPMG with eight, GE Healthcare Finnamore with seven, Arup with six and CSC with five. Many of the UK’s specialist firms are also well represented, making up around half of the firms on this year’s shortlist.

Entries to these Awards come jointly from consulting firms and their clients. 68 client organisations will be represented on the evening. Sainsburys, Argos and Marks & Spencer are amongst a strong retail presence. A large number of infrastructure projects have been recognised with Transport for London, Network Rail, Thames Water and the Airports Commission Project all on the shortlist. Meanwhile public sector clients continue to be strongly represented with a number of exciting police, council and NHS as well as central government projects included.

Alan Leaman, CEO of the MCA, commented:

“Great consulting projects and individual consultants help their clients achieve their ambition. But they also require partnership and collaboration, which is why we are delighted by the range of this year’s shortlist and the engagement of so many outstanding clients.

“2016 marks the 60th anniversary of the MCA and is also when we will be launching a new and exciting Consulting Excellence campaign. These Awards get us off to a great start.”

The Times Consultant of the Year will also be announced on the night, as well as the overall Project of the Year. The Times will also be featuring all winners in a special supplement after the main event.


The 2016 MCA Awards shortlist is as follows:

Best Use of Thought Leadership

Arcadis LLP -The Performance of Places: The Arcadis Sustainable Cities Index

Arup - Lighting in the Urban Age

Deloitte - Measuring the return from Pharmaceutical Innovation

Grant Thornton UK LLP – Spreading their Wings: How to Build a Successful Local Authority Trading company

KPMG – Customer Experience Excellence Centre

PwC – Global Financial Markets Association

Change Management in the Private Sector

Accenture with Royal Dutch Shell

BearingPoint with Volkswagen Financial Services

Capita Transformation with O2

Curzon & Company LLP with NSG Pilkington

Deloitte with GlaxoSmithKline

EY with Western Global

Grant Thornton UK LLP with Well

North Highland UK with O2

PwC with BUPA

Q5 with British Gas

Change Management in the Public Sector

Accenture with West Midlands Police

CSC with Asset Information Services

Deloitte with Department for Education

GE Healthcare Finnamore with Birmingham Cross City CCG

Inner Circle Consulting with Achieving for Children/Richmond and Kingston

KPMG with Pensions Wise

PPL with Epson Health and Care Programme

Prederi Limited with Waltham Forest

PwC with GLA

Commercial Excellence

Accenture with Anglian Water

Achieve Breakthrough with Sanofi

Arcadis with Thames Water

Efficio with Nets Holding

EY with City of Edinburgh

LCP Consulting with Argos

PwC with Aircraft Alliance


Customer Engagement

Deloitte with Virgin Media

EY with Pearson

Propaganda with The Car People

Digital and Technology

Arcadis with Transport for London (TfL)

Arup with CERN

Atkins with Department for Education

Baringa Partners with Nationwide

CSC with Network Rail

Deloitte with Phillips

Efficio with Network Rail

Elixirr with TUI Group

GE Healthcare Finnamore with Health Education England

North Highland UK with Sainsbury's

Finance & Risk Management

Arcadis with Thames Tideway Tunnel

Deloitte with SAGE

Grant Thornton UK LLP with Columbia Threadneedle

Sysdoc Ltd with Associated British Ports

Innovation (sponsored by Kimble)

CSC with Network Rail

Elixirr with AppDynamics

LCP Consulting with Argos


Curzon & Company LLP with Aliaxis - ALILA

Deloitte with Biogen

Elixirr with Barclays Africa

PwC with Puerto Rico Science Technology and Research Trust

People (sponsored by KellyOCG)

BearingPoint with Barclays Agile Branch

Deloitte with Cabinet Office

Korn Ferry Hay Group with NHS Leadership Academy

KPMG with NHS Leadership Academy / NHS England

Moorhouse with MBNL

Performance Improvement in the Private Sector (sponsored by Mindbench)

Hudson and Yorke with eir

KPMG with Allied Irish Bank Customer Services Transformation / AIB

PwC with National Australia Bank

PwC with Marks & Spencer

Performance Improvement in the Public Sector

Atkins with Department for Education

Deloitte with Network Rail

Efficio with South West Police

GE Healthcare Finnamore with Emergency Care at Barking, Havering and Redbridge University Hospital NHS Trust

KPMG with Ministry of Justice

KPMG with Bedfordshire Police Force Quality Improvement Programme / Bedfordshire Police

PPL with The Three Borough Hospital Discharge Programme

Social & Environmental Value

Arup with Leeds City Council

Moorhouse with CentrePoint

Mott MacDonald with Department for Education

Mott MacDonald with Highways England

PwC with Ofwat


Arup with Greater London Authority

Deloitte with 'Said' Business School

PwC with Airports Commission Project


Individual Awards

Change Management Consultant of the Year

Crystal Contreras, Accenture Consulting

Ben Coulson, Arup

Lisa Calmiano, CSC

Caroline Kennair, Deloitte

Tim O’Hanlon, GE Healthcare Finnamore

Digital & Technology Consultant of the Year

Chris Lyth, Arup

David Moran, CSC

Andy Bourne, Deloitte

Matthew Wright, EY

Ross Mardle, PwC

HR Consultant of the Year

Laurence Collins, Deloitte

Performance Improvement Consultant of the Year

Mark Epps, Deloitte

Karen Cheetham, GE Healthcare Finnamore

Vicky Lexton-Jones, KPMG

Strategy Consultant of the Year

Sumner Makin, Deloitte

Myrto Lee, PwC

Nick Forrest, PwC

Young Consultant of the Year

Lisa Japer, Capita Transformation

Hannah Lewsley, Deloitte

Zain Arora, Deloitte

Ross Logan, Elixirr

Rob Holt, GE Healthcare Finnamore

Rachel Tustin, GE Healthcare Finnamore

Amy Hehir, KPMG

Maximillian Pullen, Mott MacDonald

Dominic Putt, PwC

Ashutosh Nawani, PwC


Winners are decided by an independent panel of expert judges and will be announced at the Awards Dinner, held at the Park Plaza, Westminster, London on 21 April 2016.

Full details on the MCA Awards 2016 are available via www.mca.org.uk/awards.

read more